60th IFCM "Warsaw Autumn"

On the 100th anniversary of Polish independence, the Warsaw Autumn Festival explores the relationship between modern music and the reality it addresses. Modern music and the public cause, as a community and civic medium, an expression of personal and social identity. The programme of this year’s Warsaw Autumn is framed by the words of Ignacy Jan Paderewski in Rafał Augustyn and Cezary Duchnowski’s text-and-sound composition, which will open the Festival, and Louis Andriessen’s De Staat (The Republic), a legendary treatise on statehood and power, with texts from Plato’s Republic, which will closure Warsaw Autumn.

Musical works, stage music, music theatre, intermedia, electronics, traditional and new instruments, improvisation, installations, and film. The third edition of Warsaw Autumn Hits the Club and the eighth of Little Warsaw Autumn. Plus our traditional meetings with composers, and the second edition of workshops for young composers and internet radio broadcasts.

The several dozen festival works will include Agata Zubel’s opera Bildebeschreibung, Paweł Mykietyn’s multimedia show for electronics and symphony orchestra Herr Thaddäus, Piotr Peszat’s multimedia composition The Artist’s Way, Andrzej Krzanowski’s legendary Programme V, and Trond Reinholdtsen’s music theatre Q, Episode 6. We shall feature many first performances and Warsaw Autumn commissions, including works by from Michał Nejtek, Aleksander Nowak, Anna Zawadzka-Gołosz, Sławomir Wojciechowski, Rafał Ryterski, Monika Dalach, Krzysztof Wołek, Marta Śniady, Wojciech Błażejczyk, and Rafał Zapała.

Special features will include Stefan Prins, Bernhard Lang, and Agata Zubel.

Experience also the civic art of Andrzej Bieżan in the installation Piano For All and other fringe events—a retrospective of this major alternative music artist and political contester of the 1970s and 1980s.

Our performers this year will include the Warsaw Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir conducted by Jacek Kaspszyk, the Polish National Polish Radio Symphony Orchestra of Katowice led by Etienne Siebens, the Beethoven Philharmonic Orchestra led by Wiktor Kociuban, Klangforum Wien under Titus Engel, the EWCM with Rüdiger Bohn, the New Music Orchestra with Szymon Bywalec, Ensemble Recherche, Plus-Minus Ensemble, Spółdzielnia Muzyczna Contemporary Ensemble, Kwartludium, Ensemble Kompopolex with Maciej Koczur, proMODERN, as well as soloists such as Gareth Davies (bass clarinet), Kakushin Nishihara (biwa), Stephane Ginsburg (piano and multimedia), Frederike Möller (piano), and Barbara Kinga Majewska (soprano).

Concerts will be held at our traditional venues as well as new ones: the Warsaw Philharmonic, Witold Lutosławski Polish Radio Concert Studio, ATM Studio, IMKA Theatre, Nowy Theatre, F. Chopin Music University, Theatre Institute, Ujazdowski Castle Centre for Contemporary Art, Bar Studio and Powidoki at the Modern Art Museum, Warsaw Museum, Królikarnia Sculpture Park, Kordegarda Gallery, and the Austrian Culture Forum.