The group was founded by leading vocal soloists who share a passion and skill for interpreting the most demanding works by present-day composers. During their six years in existence, the vocal sextet released two albums, recorded music for two others, presented the world premieres of 28 compositions (including miniatures, larger a cappella forms, vocal–instrumental pieces, and works for voices with orchestra as well as nine different song cycles), performed in concert at festivals and at the invitation of leading cultural centres, including most of Poland’s philharmonics. 

In 2015 proMODERN won two Polish music industry Fryderyk awards: in the Choral, Oratorio and Opera Music Album of the Year category and for Best Recording of Polish Music for their debut album Where Are You? Pieces from Warsaw. Their second album, proMODERN Shakespired, was released in December 2017, and a composition by Philip Lawson, written on a commission for the group, reached 19,000 streams on Spotify in just two weeks. This album was also nominated for Fryderyk awards in the Contemporary Music Album of the Year and Best Recording of Polish Music categories. 

proMODERN comprises: soprano Marta Czarkowska, mezzo-sopranos Ewa Puchalska and Ewelina Rzezińska, tenor Andrzej Marusiak, baritone Krzysztof Chalimoniuk, and bass Piotr Pieron.