NEOQUARTET International Festival of Contemporary Music Warsaw Autumn

go to content

is a Polish string quartet focused on performing contemporary classical music. First violinist Karolina Piątkowska-Nowicka, second violinist Paweł Kapica, violist Michał Markiewicz, and cellist Krzysztof Pawłowski often combine contemporary classical music with visual arts, modern dance, and electronics. Their aim is to collaborate with composers and make their music familiar to wider audience. 

NeoQuartet is one of the most active European ensembles specialising in new music. It has played numerous concerts at the leading festivals throughout Europe, China, South Korea, Japan, and the United States. The ensemble has so far recorded 10 CDs for Polish, German, Greek, and American labels. NeoQuartet is the winner of Pomeranian Art Award (2018) and was nominated to other prestigious Polish awards: Sztorm Roku and Fryderyk. 

Since 2017, NeoQuartet also plays on electric instruments with synthesizers and looper stations. is project is called Neo Electric Quartet, the world’s only electric string quartet performing new music. 

NeoQuartet is the organiser of the NeoArte Synthesizer of Arts Festival, established in 2012 and held each year in Gdańsk. The main idea of this annual event is to popularise contemporary classical music to a wide audience. For this festival, renowned composers, artists and young talented musicians meet together to provide a new musical perspective of our times. The first edition of the New Music Spectrum took place in October 2012 in Gdańsk. Since 2013, the festival’s formula has been gradually expanded to incorporate workshops for composers, contemporary improvisation, and children. 

NeoArte, an association established by NeoQuartet, regularly commissions works by Polish and foreign composers. The list of composers who dedicated their compositions to NeoQuartet already includes Sławomir Kupczak, Jakub Polaczyk, Bohdan Sehin, Maxim Kolomiiets, Aleksander Kosciów, Oleksij Shmurak, Jerzy Kornowicz, Agnieszka Stulgińska, Marek Czerniewicz, Dariusz Przybylski, Dai Bo, Gabriel Paiuk, Grzegorz Pieniek, Kamil Kosecki, Piotr Peszat, Rafał Zapała, Peter Machajdik, Mart-Matis Lill, Anna Huuskonen, Adam Vilagi, and Peter Helmut Lang.