Na, SukJu International Festival of Contemporary Music Warsaw Autumn

go to content

born in 1981, he studied composition with Shinuh Lee at Seoul National University (graduating with a bachelor’s degree), Beat Furrer at the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz (master’s degree), and the High School of Music in Freiburg with the Johannes Schöllhorn series (Konzertexamen). 

During his Graz period, he regularly cooperated with the PPCM Ensemble under the direction of Klangforum Wien, and also worked with renowned ensembles such as Avanti! Chamber Orchestra, ensemble mosaik, Curious Chamber Players, Helsinki Chamber Choir, Ensemble Ascolta, Schola Heidelberg, and neoN Tri.

His works have been selected and performed at various music festivals and composition workshops including Sävellyspaja (2011), Time of Music in Vitasaari (2011), 5th Young German Composers Forum (2011), Franz-Liszt-Stipendium Composition Workshop in Weimar (2012), 46th Summer Courses for New Music in Darmstadt (Reading Session, 2012), Voix Nouvelles composition session at Royaumont Abbey (2012), Impuls Akademie (Young Ensemble in Residency, 2013), Dian Red Kechil International Young Composers Residency in Singapore (2013), Gaudeamus Muziekweek (2013), musikprotokoll in Graz (2013), and miseen-music festival in New York (2014). In 2014, he was awarded the STARTStipendium for Music and Performing Arts from the Chancellor of Austria. 

Selected works: moving track for flute, violin, cello, percussion and piano (2012), moving / line-movements for percussion and piano (2012), Glossolalia for 16 voices (2011/12), Merenneidon laulu for female singing flutist (2013), Nocturne for female voice, flute and piano (2013), undersurfacefor seven performers (2013), Amoeba vs Paramecium for flute, violin and piano (2014), dust for five-string electric violin (2014), translucentfor orchestra (2015), feedback for clarinet, violin, viola and piano (2015), Nachbilder for cello (2015), Ringo for six performers (2016), Sediment for seven performers (2017), sngw for four performers (2018), Matinée sur la Seine for nine performers (2018), deficiency for bass clarinet, cello and piano (2018), tff for three flutists (2019), Solidarität for a percussionist in the basement and video recorder (2020), Senkung for bass clarinet (2021).