Cybulski, Krzysztof International Festival of Contemporary Music Warsaw Autumn

go to content

Musician and sound artist, combining analogue, digital, acoustic, and mechanical solutions in his projects. He creates interactive sound objects and instruments. Winner of the 2018 Polityka Passport Award for digital culture (with panGenerator group, of which he has been a member since 2010), 2nd Prize in the 2020 Guthman Musical Instruments Competition, and an honorary mention at the Ars Electronica festival in 2017. Cybulski is a PhD student at the Department of Sound Engineering of Warsaw’s Fryderyk Chopin University of Music, member of the Polish Society for Electroacoustic Music (PSeME) and STOART Association. He teaches classes on interactive sound objects as part of Creative Coding postgraduate study programme (SWPS University’s School of Form) as well as numerous workshops and lectures concerning the intersections of art and technology, among others at the Georgia Institute of Technology (USA). He was awarded the artistic scholarship of the Capital City of Warsaw (2019), as well as scholarships from the Minister of Culture and National Heritage (2017) and the Composing Commissions programme (2013, 2015). He has taken part in such events as Future Innovators Summit / Ars Electronica Festival (Austria, 2018), Athens Digital Art Festival (Greece, 2018), International Conference of New Interfaces for Musical Expression (Denmark, 2017, UK, 2020), Ars Electronica (Austria, 2017), Guthman Musical Instruments Competition (USA, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2020), Warsaw Autumn (2015, 2016, 2019), Musica Polonica Nova (2018), Biennale Wro (2015), Ad Libitum (2015), Audio Art (2018), and Instalactions (2015). He has collaborated with such artists as Robert Curgenven, Krzysztof Knittel, Anna Zaradny, Norman Leto, Grzech Piotrowski, and Sławomir Wojciechowski. He is a member of Lomi Lomi band and 4way Quartet. 

Selected works and installations: ABBBEEEIKKR, six variations on the theme of the Lithuanian song Bek, bare, beki for cello, electric guitar, piccolo bass guitar, four voices and live electronics (2013), AAS, sound installation (2015), MORPH for cello, bass clarinet and live electronics (2015), Aaron S, opera (with Sławomir Wojciechowski, Paweł Krzaczkowski and Norman Leto, 2016), Sum 4’30, music composition and graphic score (with Michał Górczyński, Rober Curgenven and Paweł Krzaczkowski, 2017), AHS, sound objects (2017), Pneumatophones, sound installation (2019), Modular Process Music for original sound objects (2016–22).