CHÓR FILHARMONII NARODOWEJ (WARSAW PHILHARMONIC CHOIR) International Festival of Contemporary Music Warsaw Autumn

go to content


began its professional artistic activity in 1953, under the direction of Zbigniew Soja. Its successive choirmasters were Roman Kuklewicz (1955–71), Józef Bok (1971–74), Antoni Szaliński (1974–78), and Henryk Wojnarowski (1978–2016); since January 2017, the post has been held by Bartosz Michałowski. 

The Choir has performed in the most important centres of European music life along with major orchestras including the Berliner Philharmoniker. Highlights of the Choir’s career include appearances in opera productions at Milan’s La Scala, Venice’s La Fenice, as well the operas of Pesaro, Palermo and Paris. It has also participated in three gala concerts for Pope John Paul II at the Vatican. 

The Warsaw Philharmonic Choir has performed under eminent Polish and foreign masters of the baton such as Gary Bertini, Andrzej Boreyko, Sergiu Comissiona, Henryk Czyż, Jacek Kaspszyk, Kazimierz Kord, Jan Krenz, Lorin Maazel, Jerzy Maksymiuk, Zubin Mehta, Grzegorz Nowak, Seiji Ozawa, Krzysztof Penderecki, Sir Simon Rattle, Witold Rowicki, Jerzy Semkow, Giuseppe Sinopoli, Stanisław Skrowaczewski, Leopold Stokowski, Igor Stravinsky, Stanisław Wisłocki, Antoni Wit, and Bohdan Wodiczko. 

The Warsaw Philharmonic Choir’s vast repertoire comprises more than 400 large-scale vocal–instrumental and unaccompanied works from the Middle Ages to the present day. Polish music, especially the works of Krzysztof Penderecki, takes pride of place in this repertoire. The Choir has performed all Penderecki’s large-scale vocal-instrumental and unaccompanied works. In February 2017, the Choir received the most prestigious award of the phonographic industry, a Grammy, in the Best Choral Performance category, for the first CD in the Penderecki Conducts Penderecki series. The Choir’s released recordings have earned them six Grammy nominations (five for Penderecki’s music, one for Szymanowski’s), as well as a Fryderyk Award (for Moniuszko’s Masses Vol. 1) and the Orphée d’Or – Prix Arturo Toscanini of the French Académie du Disque Lyrique (Masses Vol. 2).